Los Angeles

A couple weeks ago I went to the annual conference for the nonprofit I volunteer for. I run their teen program. This was the first year since 2006 that I have gone without Mark/the boys. It was just too far this year to schlep them all across the country with me (location changes each year), but next year Miles will be old enough for the kids program and we’ll all be there together again 🙂

Although we used to live in CA, I’d never been to LA before. I think I prefer Northern CA! Still, being in Hollywood was fun! Some things I did when I wasn’t working:

Ate here...twice! Oh, how I've missed the best fast food burger restaurant EVER! I think it's only in CA, UT, and AZ.

Ate here…twice! Oh, how I’ve missed the best fast food burger restaurant EVER! I think it’s only in CA, UT, and AZ.


Took a picture of the Hollywood sign

Took a picture of the Hollywood sign


The Griddle Restaurant

I ate a GINORMOUS pancake. It was amazing.


This is CBS studios. I went there with some friends to be in the audience for 2 live tapings of the Late Show with Craig Ferguson. It was so much fun! I wish I could have taken pictures inside!

This is CBS studios. I went there with some friends to be in the audience for 2 live tapings of the Late Show with Craig Ferguson. It was so much fun! I wish I could have taken pictures inside!


Recognize this coffee shop? It's the set from Friends! I got to sit on the actual Friends couch! We took the teens on a tour of the Warner Brothers Studio Lot and this was one of our stops.

Recognize this coffee shop? It’s the set from Friends! I got to sit on the actual Friends couch! We took the teens on a tour of the Warner Brothers Studio Lot and this was one of our stops.


The teens talked me into getting a henna tattoo of Batman. I put it on my shoulder so it wouldn't be visible during my brother-in-law's wedding. It made me popular with my Batman-loving sons, that's for sure! :-p

The teens talked me into getting a henna tattoo of Batman. I put it on my shoulder so it wouldn’t be visible during my brother-in-law’s wedding. It made me popular with my Batman-loving sons, that’s for sure! :-p

Of course, there were meetings and workshops too, and late night snacks with friends I only see once or twice a year.

While I was gone, the boys had adventures of their own: going to the science museum, playing at a park with my mom, going to a cookout with my family, and buying and planting an apple tree. They were VERY proud of that last one! I wonder how long it will take to get apples?

baby apple tree

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

