July

July was a busy, fun month!

Miles attended a science summer camp, just like last year. The change this year was that it was all day. He really enjoyed himself and it was a good warmup for all day kindergarten, which starts this month.

The 4th of July was spent in my hometown.

After that, we headed to Baltimore for the annual conference of the nonprofit that I volunteer with. I run the teen program there with an old friend, and Mark helps out too. My grandmother came to help us with the boys. This year was Miles’s first year in the kids’ program and he LOVED it! He made lots of new friends and rode a real camel at the zoo. Working with the teens is a highlight of my year, and I love that it’s a family affair.

Cheesy field trip with the teens!

Cheesy field trip with the teens!


My brother and his wife came along to help chaperone.

My brother and his wife came along to help chaperone.


Miles riding a camel at the zoo

Miles riding a camel at the zoo

I also had the opportunity to go to Portugal with my siblings, mom, and grandmother after the conference. We went for 10 days and it was beautiful! We visited 4 cities all over the country…Porto and Lagos were my favorites. I can’t wait to take my kids abroad when they’re a little bit older.

Mom and me

Mom and me


The beaches in Lagos were beautiful, but the water was FREEEEEZING cold! :-)

The beaches in Lagos were beautiful, but the water was FREEEEEZING cold! 🙂


Along the river in Porto, where we ate one night

Along the river in Porto, where we ate one night


My brother and me at the Conimbriga ruins in Coimbra

My brother and me at the Conimbriga ruins in Coimbra

We’ve spent a lot of time reading, and completed the library’s summer reading program.

Even Skye wants to hear Daddy read!

Even Skye wants to hear Daddy read!

Miles and Julian finished the month starting swim classes. They loved their new goggles!
swim

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

